Hull City

Academy To Host Tigers Cup In Pre-Season

07 June 2019
Hull City Academy is delighted to announce The Tigers Cup which will be held at Bishop Burton College over three days in July.

The four-team set-up sees Huddersfield Town’s Elite Development Team, Pickering Town and Bridlington Town come together to compete in a pre-season tournament with the Tigers’ Under-23s as part of Jon Beale’s side’s preparations ahead of the 2019/20 Professional Development League campaign.

The Terriers took the decision to restructure its youth system in an innovative new manner ahead of the 2018/19 campaign, switching its age groupings to echo the European model, with U19 and U17 groups running alongside an Elite Development Team for its older talents. The EDT and U19 sides played bespoke, tailored games programmes put together to challenge their younger players, whilst the U17s competed in the U18 Professional Development League.

Bridlington Town enjoyed a fine NCEL Premier Division campaign in 2018/19, finishing third – 13 points behind Champions Worksop Town – after ending the campaign with five successive league wins under the guidance of player/manager Brett Agnew. The Seasiders also enjoyed success in the East Riding Senior Cup Final when registering a 3-1 win over Hull City in May.

Managed by Denny Ingram, Pickering Town also enjoyed a successful season last term after securing a 16th-place finish in the Northern Premier League Division One East in what was their first campaign in Step 4 of non-league following promotion in 2017/18. Academy products Charlie Andrew, Harrison Foulkes and Matty Jacob all featured for the Pikes last season, with Foulkes and Jacob winning the club’s Manager’s and Players’ Player of the Season awards respectively.

The format of the pre-season tournament sees the Tigers host Pickering Town in the opening fixture on Wednesday 24th July (KO 7.30pm) before Huddersfield and Bridlington go head-to-head in the second semi-final the following day on Thursday 25th July (KO 7.30pm).

The third/fourth play-off match will then take place on Saturday 27th July (KO 11am) ahead of the final – contested by the two winning teams in the semi-finals – which will kick-off immediately afterwards at 1pm.

Admission to all four games will be free of charge to all supporters.