Hull City

Carabao Cup Round Two Draw

09 August 2017
The Carabao Cup Round Two draw will take place live on Sky Sports Main Event and Sky Sports News on Thursday night, following the conclusion of the televised Round One tie between Sunderland and Bury.

The Tigers, along with fellow Championship side Middlesbrough and the 13 Premier League clubs not competing in Europe this season, will enter the competition at this stage.

Leonid Slutsky’s side will be one of the 25 seeded teams and will be drawn against one of the 25 unseeded teams, which will consist of the lowest ranked teams remaining in the competition, in terms of last season’s league positions.

The draw, which remains seeded and unseeded, has been regionalised to avoid a fixture scheduling complication involving West Ham United and Newport County, who have both been given special dispensation by the EFL Board to play their Round Two ties away from their home grounds. Newport have been placed in the Northern half of the draw to ensure there is no chance of the two teams being drawn together.

The regional groups and draw numbers are as follows:

North Seeds
1. Aston Villa
2. Burnley
3. Derby County / Grimsby Town
4. Huddersfield Town
5. Hull City
6. Leeds United
7. Leicester City
8. Middlesbrough
9. Newcastle United
10. Sheffield Wednesday
11. Stoke City
12. West Bromwich Albion
13. Sunderland / Barnsley*

South Seeds
1. AFC Bournemouth
2. Brentford
3. Brighton & Hove Albion
4. Cardiff City
5. Crystal Palace
6. Fulham
7. Norwich City
8. Reading
9. Southampton
10. Swansea City
11. Watford
12. West Ham United

North Non-Seeds
14. Bury / Barnsley*
15. Accrington Stanley
16. Blackburn Rovers
17. Bolton Wanderers
18. Carlisle United
19. Doncaster Rovers
20. Newport County
21. Nottingham Forest
22. Rochdale
23. Rotherham United
24. Scunthorpe United
25. Sheffield United
26. Wigan Athletic

South Non-Seeds
13. Barnet
14. Birmingham City
15. Bristol City
16. Bristol Rovers
17. Burton Albion
18. Charlton Athletic
19. Cheltenham Town
20. Ipswich Town
21. Millwall
22. Milton Keynes Dons
23. Queens Park Rangers
24. Wolverhampton Wanderers

* In the event Sunderland overcome Bury this evening at the Energy Check Stadium at Gigg Lane, Barnsley will drop into the unseeded pot.  If there is a home win then the Oakwell Club will be seeded at ball number 13 in the Northern draw and Bury will be ball 14.
In addition, the winners of the outstanding fixture between Grimsby Town and Derby County (rearranged to be played on August 22) will be ball 3 in the North seeded pot.  This is because Derby County would have been a seeded team if they had won Tuesday’s night’s abandoned game based on last season’s final league position.